The University insures automobile liability insurance through the State Risk Management Trust Fund, administered by the Florida Department of Financial Services, Division of Risk Management. This insurance provides protections for UF against third party bodily injury and property damage losses arising from the use of state vehicles, and personal vehicles operated within the course and scope of employment. The following provides information on the Automobile Liability insurance coverage. Please note that the actual policy will govern.
The fund provides Bodily injury and Property Damage liability insurance for the negligent acts or omissions of UF employees and volunteers while acting within the course and scope of employment.
The Fund only offers liability coverage; therefore, the policy does not provide physical damage coverage (“comprehensive” or collision) on vehicles.
In accordance with Chapter 284, Part II and Section 768.28, Florida Statutes, the limits of liability (under the waiver of sovereign immunity law) for which the State may be sued, are $200,000 per person’s claim, $300,000 for all claims.
Physical Damage Coverage
The auto policy does not provide physical damage coverage (“comprehensive” or collision); the Department assigned to operate the vehicle is responsible for the cost of repairs when the employee is at fault for the accident or not within the course and scope of employment. If the other party involved in the accident is at fault, damages can be subrogated against the other party by the department that sustained the damages. When an accident involves two Florida State owned vehicles, the repairs of the vehicles are handled between the Departments assigned the vehicles.
Requirements Associated with the Use of University-owned Vehicles
The Division of Risk Management in conjunction with the Florida Statutes does require certain items be met before operating a University-owned vehicle or vehicle while on University business. The following outlines those requirements.
- Validity of Driver’s License – It is the responsibility of the individual department, division, unit, etc. to confirm the validity of the driver’s license of the employee or volunteer. Only those with a current and valid driver’s license may operate a vehicle. (FAC60b-1.004) (University-Owned Vehicle Usage)
- “Know Before You Go” document – produced by the State of Florida and intended to be kept in the glove box.
- Vehicle Inspection – Annual vehicle inspection is mandatory for all university vehicles.
Contact UF Motor Pool at 392-1131 to schedule an appointment. (Safety Inspections)
- Employees and designated volunteers. (FAC 60b-1.004) (UF-3.0031 Volunteers)
Drivers of University of Florida Vehicles
Employees and volunteers of UF are insured to use state vehicles while acting in the course and scope of their employment.
A volunteer is any person who of his own will, provides goods or services to the named insured, with no monetary or material compensation as outlined in the university regulation. (http://regulations.ufl.edu/regulations/uf-3-finance-administration).
Students are NOT volunteers for any activities for which they are receiving credit, fulfilling a degree requirement or part of their course syllabus.
Students who are not in a paid status are not covered by the University’s insurance and are strictly prohibited from operating a state vehicle.
Reporting an Accident
Procedure to Follow at Accident Scene
This procedure applies to automobile accidents involving UF-owned or rented vehicles.
- Contact local law enforcement to report the accident.
If the accident occurs on campus, contact the University Police.
- The driver must notify their supervisor of the specifics related to the accident.
- Provide the officer with the University auto policy number.
- Do not accept responsibility for the accident on your behalf or that of the University.
- Obtain a copy of the Driver Exchange of Information form.
Procedure to Follow after Auto Accident
This following documentation must be submitted within 3 days after the accident to the Insurance Coordinator.
- The driver must complete an Automobile Accident Reporting form.
- The supervisor must provide a written statement advising who was operating the vehicle and
what job duties the driver was performing at the time of the accident.
- Driver’s Exchange form.
- Police Report.
- If vehicle is a rented vehicle, notify the rental company immediately.
Failure to do so may void the terms of your rental contract, including any insurance coverage provided under the contract.
If filing a claim when a university driver is at fault, the claimant may file through the university’s insurance company or file through their personal automobile insurance and their company will handle directly with the university’s company. If filing through the university’s insurance, the claimant can complete the Statement of Claim form and submit to the following.
North Tort Claims Unit
Division of Risk Management
200 E. Gaines Street
Tallahassee, Florida 32399-0338
Click to Email
- Know Before You Go Brochure (keep in car glove box)
- Automobile Accident Report (UF driver completes)
- Statement of Claim form (claimant completes)
- *Florida Statute 284
- *Florida Statute 728.68